CJPE Introduction


Journal Objectives and Scope

The Canadian Journal of Program Evaluation is published three times a year by the Canadian Evaluation Society (under the international standard serial number ISSN 0834-1516). The Journal seeks to promote the theory and practice of program evaluation in Canada by publishing:

  • Articles of up to 7,000 words (including references) on evaluation theory and practice, including innovative methodological approaches, standards of practice, strategies to enhance the implementation, reporting and use of evaluations. Articles reporting original empirical research on evaluation are of particular interest.
  • Research and Practice Notes of up to 3,000 words that present exemplars of innovative evaluation practice and cases.
  • Book Reviews of up to 1,000 words that provide a critique of authored and edited volumes of interest and relevance to the evaluation field.

CJPE is an open access and bilingual journal, publishing in both English and French. Readership includes academics, practitioners and policymakers. CJPE attracts authors and readers internationally. CJPE news are published here and on our twitter feed: @cjpe_rcep


Editorial Team

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Isabelle Bourgeois, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Ottawa, [email protected]

Editorial Coordinator: Stéphanie Maltais, Ph.D. [email protected]

Associate Editor:  Research and Practice Notes: Jill Chouinard, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Public Administration, University of Victoria, [email protected] 

Associate Editor: Networking: Johann Jacob,[email protected]

Associate Editor: Book Reviews: Jane Whynot, University of Ottawa, [email protected]

Social Media Coordinator: Christine Vandenberghe