Winner, Service to the Society Award, 2013


It is my pleasure to present the 2013 award for Service to the Canadian Evaluation Society – Barry Warrack. Barry has belonged to CES sine 1984 and been active on the Board of Directors in his Manitoba Chapter since 1997. He joined national Council as the representative from Manitoba in 2000 and held the position of Chair of the Administration Committee from 2002-2009. He was elected as Vice President of CES in 2009 and held the post to 2011. This award recognized significant contributions to CES and Barry has made many. He supported the organization of conferences in Victoria 2010 and Edmonton in 2011 and was the treasurer of the 2007 conference hosted by his home chapter Manitoba. He managed the newly evolving relationship with CESEF On Council Barry could be counted to provide calm, reasoned advise and bring the full breadth of CES history to bear on issues and decisions. Quotes from his colleagues and nominators best demonstrate the high regard in which he is held:

"long and genuine commitment" and "Undisputed corporate memory" and "excellent, valued service"

Congratulations Barry Warrack!

Acceptance speech

Thanks for presenting me with this important award today. I am honoured to accept it. I would first like to say that during my tenure on the CES National Council, both as a Chapter member, Chair of Admin Committee and as CES Vice President, I greatly enjoyed working with all of the Chapter representatives and CES National Executive – the wide-ranging perspectives they brought to Council and great teamwork allowed us to achieve many things over my years on Council.

As I look back, I was very privileged to work with many CES members from both the public and private sectors. These members brought a passion and desire for excellence to CES National, working on member's behalf.

In closing, I would like to thank those in the Manitoba chapter who nominated me and supported my nomination. Also thanks to this year's National Council for your work over the past year, and to Ontario Chapter for hosting an outstanding conference this year.