Ronald Mackay

Fall

Participatory impact pathways analysis: a practical application of program theory in research-for-development

Auteurs:
Pages:
127-159

Le programme Défi pour l'eau et la nourriture vise à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et à réduire la pauvreté dans le cadre d'un ensemble de quelque 50 projets de recherche axés sur le développement. Ces projets impliquent près de 200 organisations oeuvrant dans neuf bassins fl uviaux à travers le monde. Les auteurs ont mis au point une approche destinée à augmenter l'impact du programme au plan du développement par l'entremise d'une meilleure mesure des impacts de chacun des projets. Cette approche comprend un plan de suivi et d'évaluation permettant aux parties prenantes de tirer des conclusions stratégiques destinées à améliorer les projets à venir, et de générer les données requises pour les campagnes d'information à l'intention du grand public. L'approche comprend également une présentation explicite des fondements théoriques du programme, ainsi qu'une description des réseaux d'impacts basée sur une modèle logique et sur une cartographie de réseaux. L'intégration du modèle logique et de la cartographie de réseaux en une présentation unifiée incluant les étapes logiques, les facteurs de risques, et les principales hypothèses contribue à étoffer la pertinence globale du modèle. L'approche participative de l'impact des cheminements critiques (PIPA) repose sur des concepts associés à la théorie de programme, à l'apprentissage organisationnel, et à l'analyse des réseaux sociaux.

Fall

Evaluating Organizational Capacity Development

Auteurs:
Pages:
121-150

Bien que des sommes substantielles soient investies dans le développement des compétences institutionnelles et organisationnelles, la conception et la gestion des actions de renforcement des capacités laissent fortement à désirer. Par ailleurs, rares sont les actions de développement de capacités qui ont fait l'objet d'une évaluation systématique et approfondie. Cet article décrit les cadres conceptuels et les méthodes utilisés par les évaluateurs d'un projet régional de développement des capacités mis en œuvre dans plusieurs sites d'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes. L'article examine certains des obstacles en matière de développement des capacités et d'évaluation. L'article décrit les grandes lignes des procédures adoptées, apporte quelques exemples et présente les conclusions des réponses proposées aux quatre questions suivantes: Quelles sont les principales contributions du projet à la gestion de la recherche?; Comment les résultats ont-ils été atteints?; Quels facteurs ont facilité leur mise au point?; Quelles leçons peut-on tirer de l'expérience?

Spring

Book reviews

Auteurs:
Pages:
139-146

Marisol Estrella (Ed.). (2000). Learning from Change: Issues and Experiences in Participatory Monitoring and Evaluation. Ottawa: International Development Research Centre. 274 pages. (Reviewed by Ronald Mackay)Irving Rootman, Michael Goodstadt, Brian Hyndman, David V. McQueen, Louise Potvin, Jane Springett, & Erio Ziglio (Éds.) (2001). Evaluation in Health Promotion: Principles and Perspectives. WHO Regional Publications, European Series, No. 92, Denmark, 533 pages. (Compte rendu par Nathalie Dubois)

Fall

The Formative Evaluation of Years 1 And 2 of a Pilot Multicultural/Anti-Racist Educational-Leadership Program

Auteurs:
Pages:
67-89

Cet article décrit l'approche, les techniques, et les instruments utilisés pendant, les deux premières années d'un programme pilote d'échanges en leadership pour l'éducation multiculturelle et antiraciste. Le programme touchait 200 élèves du secondaire répartis entre six commissions scolaires dans quatres provinces canadiennes. Pendant les deux premières années, l'évaluation visait principalement à aider les coordonnateurs, les enseignants, et les élèves à mieux planifier le déroulement de leur programme et à effectuer les ajustements nécessaires de leurs objectifs.

Fall

Assessing the Organizational Impact of Development Cooperation: A Case from Agricultural R&D

Auteurs:
Pages:
1-28

Cet article présente le compte rendu d'une étude d'évaluation portant sur «l'impact organisationnel» des efforts du Service international pour la recherche agricole nationale. Agence à but non lucratif, SIRAN a pour mandat de renforcer les organisations et systèmes de recherche agricoles nationaux. Pour les besoins de l'étude, l'impact organisationnel se définit comme les effets réels des activités et services de SIRAN sur l'environnement externe, la motivation interne et les capacités des organisations clientes. Les auteurs présentent le contexte et les objectifs de l'étude d'évaluation, de même que le cadre conceptuel mis au point pour sa réalisation. L'article décrit la série d'exercices évaluatifs compris dans l'étude globale, les processus de collecte et d'analyse de données ainsi que quelques résultats saillants. Les résultats généraux sont comparés aux objectifs initiaux de l'évaluation.

Ronald Mackay

Fall

Participatory impact pathways analysis: a practical application of program theory in research-for-development

Authors:
Pages:
127-159

The Challenge Program on Water and Food pursues food security and poverty alleviation through the efforts of some 50 researchfor- development projects. These involve almost 200 organizations working in nine river basins around the world. An approach was developed to enhance the developmental impact of the program through better impact assessment, to provide a framework for monitoring and evaluation, to permit stakeholders to derive strategic and programmatic lessons for future initiatives, and to provide information that can be used to inform public awareness efforts. The approach makes explicit a project's program theory by describing its impact pathways in terms of a logic model and network maps. A narrative combines the logic model and the network maps into a single explanatory account and adds to overall plausibility by explaining the steps in the logic model and the key risks and assumptions. Participatory Impact Pathways Analysis is based on concepts related to program theory drawn from the fields of evaluation, organizational learning, and social network analysis.

Fall

Evaluating Organizational Capacity Development

Authors:
Pages:
121-150

While substantial sums are being invested in the development of organizational and institutional capacities, the design and management of capacity development efforts leaves much to be desired. Few capacity development initiatives have been systematically and thoroughly evaluated. This paper describes the conceptual frameworks and methods used to evaluate a multi-site, regional capacity-development project in Latin America and the Caribbean undertaken to strengthen planning, monitoring and evaluation (PM&E) in agricultural research organizations. The report discusses some of the challenges facing capacity development and its evaluation, outlines the procedures employed, and illustrates these with some consolidated findings in response to four evaluation questions: What were the main contributions of the project to agricultural research management? How were the results achieved? What factors facilitated their achievement? and What lessons can we learn to improve future capacity development efforts and their evaluation?

Spring

Book reviews

Authors:
Pages:
139-146

Marisol Estrella (Ed.). (2000). Learning from Change: Issues and Experiences in Participatory Monitoring and Evaluation. Ottawa: International Development Research Centre. 274 pages. (Reviewed by Ronald Mackay)Irving Rootman, Michael Goodstadt, Brian Hyndman, David V. McQueen, Louise Potvin, Jane Springett, & Erio Ziglio (Éds.) (2001). Evaluation in Health Promotion: Principles and Perspectives. WHO Regional Publications, European Series, No. 92, Denmark, 533 pages. (Compte rendu par Nathalie Dubois)

Fall

The Formative Evaluation of Years 1 And 2 of a Pilot Multicultural/Anti-Racist Educational-Leadership Program

Authors:
Pages:
67-89

This paper describes the evaluation approach, techniques, and instruments adopted during the first two years of a three-year multicultural/antiracist educational leadership program carried out in six different school boards in four Canadian provinces involving approximately 200 secondary students. The purpose of the evaluation during these first two years was primarily to assist the program coordinators, teachers, and students to plan effectively, monitor progress, and fine-tune their training programs in order to more successfully achieve their objectives.

Fall

Assessing the Organizational Impact of Development Cooperation: A Case from Agricultural R&D

Authors:
Pages:
1-28

This paper reports on an evaluation of the organizational impacts of the International Service for National Agricultural Research (ISNAR), a non-profit agency with a mandate to strengthen national agricultural research organizations and systems. For the purposes of this study, "organizational impacts" are defined as the effects of ISNAR's activities and outputs on the external environment, organizational motivation, and capacity of client organizations. The article outlines the context and objectives of the evaluation and the conceptual framework developed for it. A set of component evaluation studies, data collection and analysis procedures and some salient findings are described. Overall results are contrasted with the initial evaluation objectives.