Michael Obrecht

Spring

Impacts of the Canadian Evaluation Society's evaluation competitions for students

Auteurs:
Pages:
85-91

Fall

Casing out evaluation: expanding student interest in program evaluation through case competitions

Auteurs:
Pages:
129-134

Ce docuemnt décrit l'expérience des auteurs dans l'organisation des concours bilingues de cas en évaluation pour la Section de la Capitale nationale de la Société canadienne d'évaluation en 1996, 1997 et 1998. Il traite la structure des concours, les règles d'admissibilité et l'évaluation des présentations des étudiants. Les auteurs présentent aussi les leçons tirées du recrutement des concurrents et de la préparation des cas.

Fall

Distilling Stakeholder Input for Program Evaluation Priority Setting

Auteurs:
Pages:
119-134

Peu d'organismes ont assez de ressources qu'ils peuvent poursuivre toutes les questions d'évaluation d'intérêt. L'identificatîon des priorités pour le travail évaluatif est une fonction critique d'une corporation. Théoriquement, des ressources doivent être concentrées sur les études qui avanceront l'organisation en indiquant le potentiel pour l'amélioration de stratégie ou de la programmation. L'identification de ce qui devrait être étudié, et quand, exige que l'organisation reçoit de la rétroaction claire des intervenants sur des questions de programme. Cependant, la filtration des communications entre les intervenants et l'organisation peuvent empêcher sa capacité d'alimenter efficacement l'établissement de priorités d'évaluation, Un équipe d'experts ayant un crédibilité élevé dans l'organisation et dans la communauté des utilisateurs, mais indépendant, peut sauter des filtres de transmissions et fournir à l'organisation une lecture distillée et claire des soucis des intervenants.

Fall

Stakeholder Pressures and Organizational Structure for Program Evaluation

Auteurs:
Pages:
139-147

L'influence sur l'évaluation d'un programme de la part des personnes ou des groupes qui s'intéressent au programme est reliée à l'importance du programme aux populations cibles, leur cionnaisance du projet d'évaluation ainsi que leurs perceptions de l'effet potentiel des résultats. La structure organisationelle pour l'évaluation fonctionne comme un canal par lequel les tensions des groupes externes se heurtent sur le processus d'évaluation. Dans cet article l'évolution d'une structure organisationelle pour l'évaluation dans une agence fédérale est. examinée afin d'illustrer des avantages et désavantages d'une inclusion formelle des groupes externes.

CES Online Learning Goes Live: Welcome to the CES e-Institute!

Michael Obrecht

Spring

Impacts of the Canadian Evaluation Society's evaluation competitions for students

Authors:
Pages:
85-91

Fall

Casing out evaluation: expanding student interest in program evaluation through case competitions

Authors:
Pages:
129-134

This paper describes the authors' experience in organizing bilingual evaluation case competitions for the National Capital Chapter of the Canadian Evaluation SOciety in 1996, 1997 and 1998. It covers the structure of competitions, eligibility rules, and the judging of student presentations. The authors also share lessons about recruiting contestants and preparing cases.

Fall

Distilling Stakeholder Input for Program Evaluation Priority Setting

Authors:
Pages:
119-134

As few organizations have enough resources that they can pursue all evaluation questions of interest, the setting of priorities for evaluative work is a critical corporate function. Ideally, evaluation resources should be focused on studies that will most effectively advance the organization by pointing to potential for improved strategy or programming. Identifying what should be studied, and when, requires that the organization have clear feedback from stakeholders on program issues. However, ongoing input from stakeholders may be so filtered that it cannot effectively fuel the setting of evaluation priorities. An expert panel that has high credibility both within and without the organization, yet is at arms length to both the organization and external stakeholders, can bypass many communications filters and thus provide the organization with a distilled but clear reading of stakeholder concerns.

Fall

Stakeholder Pressures and Organizational Structure for Program Evaluation

Authors:
Pages:
139-147

Stakeholder influence on program evaluations will vary with the importance of the program to target populations, their awareness of the evaluation exercise, and their perception of its likely impact. The organizational structure for evaluation within an institution provides a channel through which pressures exerted by stakeholders impinge directly upon the evaluation process. The author examines the evolution of the program evaluation structure within a federal government agency to illustrate the advantages and drawbacks of formalizing stakeholder involvement.