Donna Podems

Special Issue

Editor's Remarks / Un mot du rédacteur en chef + Introduction to Professionalizing Evaluation: A Global Perspective on Evaluator Competencies / Introduction à la professionnalisation de l’évaluation : perspective globale sur les compétences des...

Auteurs:
Pages:
v-xv

Evaluator Competencies: The South African Government Experience

Auteurs:
Pages:
71-85

Cet article décrit le processus du gouvernement sud-africain pour développer les compétences d'évaluateur. L'article commence par décrire brièvement le contexte historique plus général où le besoin d'évaluateurs de programme « compétents » et de compétences d'évaluation a émergé au sein du gouvernement. L'article met l'accent sur le « Department of Performance Monitoring and Evaluation » à la présidence sud-africaine, chargé du suivi et de l'évaluation du rendement au sein du gouvernement, son évolution en tant que nouvelle institution gouvernementale, et son processus d'élaboration et d'institutionnalisation des compétences d'évaluateur

Evaluator Competencies and Professionalizing the Field: Where Are We Now?

Auteurs:
Pages:
127-136

Cet article aborde la question « Qu'est-ce qui se passe dans le monde en termes de compétences des évaluateurs, et quel impact en a subi la professionnalisation de l'évaluation? ». Se servant d'un cadre d'évaluation de développement pour répondre à cette question, l'article examine les cinq récits de cas présentés dans ce numéro. Plusieurs thèmes communs sont identifiés et les arguments pour et contre les listes de compétences d'évaluateur sont discutées. L'article s'attaque ensuite aux prochaines étapes relatives à l'identification des compétences de base et la recherche connexe, et propose une perspective d'avenir.

Donna Podems

Special Issue

Editor's Remarks / Un mot du rédacteur en chef + Introduction to Professionalizing Evaluation: A Global Perspective on Evaluator Competencies / Introduction à la professionnalisation de l’évaluation : perspective globale sur les compétences des...

Authors:
Pages:
v-xv

Evaluator Competencies: The South African Government Experience

Authors:
Pages:
71-85

This article describes the South African government's process in developing evaluator competencies. It first briefly describes the more general historical context in which the need for "competent" program evaluators and evaluation skills emerged in government, and then focuses on the Department of Performance Monitoring and Evaluation in the South African Presidency, its evolution as a new government institution responsible for M&E in government, and its process to develop and institutionalize evaluator competencies.

Evaluator Competencies and Professionalizing the Field: Where Are We Now?

Authors:
Pages:
127-136

This article addresses the question "What is happening around the globe in terms of evaluator competencies, and in what ways has this influenced the professionalization of evaluation?" Using a Development Evaluation framework to address this question, the article examines the five case narratives provided in this issue. Several common themes are identified and the arguments for and against evaluator competency lists are discussed. The article then grapples with the next steps related to identifying core competencies and conducting related research, and suggests a potential way forward.