Brian Rush

Special Issue

The experience of developing a package of instruments to measure the critical characteristics of community support programs for people with a severe mental illness

Auteurs:
Pages:
159-166

L'un des défis majeurs concernant l'évaluation des programmes est le développement et l'utilisation d'outils, à la fois pratiques et généralisables, permettant de mesurer la mise en oeuvre de ces programmes. Le but est de comprendre comment les caractéristiques des programmes sont associées aux résultats, afin d'améliorer leur efficacité. Ce bref rapport décrit notre expérience dans le développement d'un ensemble d'outils destinés à mesurer les caractéristiques critiques des programmes communautaires de soutien aux personnes atteintes de troubles de santé mentale sévères. Nous présentons trois défis méthodologiques auxquels nous avons été confrontés : présenter une vue d'ensemble du travail; définir les limites des programmes de façon compréhensible; et intégrer des perspectives multiples. Les solutions potentielles sont également discutées. Nous concluons que, malgré ces défis, le but de développer des mesures des caractéristiques des programmes, indépendantes des modèles existants, est essentiel pour rendre possible des comparaisons plausibles entre les programmes et de démontrer des liens importants entre les processus et les résultats.

Spring

A peer support approach to evaluation: assessing supported employment programs for people with developmental disabilities

Auteurs:
Pages:
25-41

Cet article décrit une solution d'aide par les pairs pour l'évaluation des résultats dans les programmes d'emploi subventionnés destinés aux personnes ayant des handicaps du développement. L'évaluation sous la perspective de l'appui par les pairs, qui se base sur un modèle mis au point par sept organismes, utilise des idées glanées au fil d'évaluations internes et externes. Chacune des composantes de ce type d'évaluation est indiquée et une étude de cas de l'expérience faite par un organisme est décrite. L'article se termine par diverses leçons recueillies de la mise en pratique dans divers organismes, sans oublier l'importance de la formation et du soutien.

Fall

Program Logic Models: Expanding Their Role and Structure for Program Planning and Evaluation

Auteurs:
Pages:
95-106

Les représentations schematiques d'un programme, dites, modèles de la logique du programme ont servi depuis quelques années à éclaircir les buts du programme ainsi que les hypothèses causales de base. Cette étude présente les avantages du développement de la structure des modèles de la logique en separant nettement les buts de la mise un oeuvre des résultats dans l'hierarchie des buts du programme. Les avantages revenant du développement des modèles de la logique à la planification de programmes et à d'autres fins sont egalement examinés.

Brian Rush

Special Issue

The experience of developing a package of instruments to measure the critical characteristics of community support programs for people with a severe mental illness

Authors:
Pages:
159-166

A major challenge for program evaluators is to develop and use measures of program implementation that are both comprehensive and generalizable across programs. The goal is to understand how measures of program characteristics are related to outcomes and, ultimately, to improve program effectiveness. In this brief report, we describe our experience in developing a package of instruments to measure critical characteristics of community support programs for people with a severe mental illness. We highlight three primary methodological challenges encountered: ensuring comprehensiveness, attaining a common understanding of program boundaries, and incorporating multiple perspectives. Potential solutions are discussed. We conclude that, despite these challenges, the goal of model-free measures of program characteristics is essential to enable meaningful program comparisons and to substantiate important process- outcome links.

Spring

A peer support approach to evaluation: assessing supported employment programs for people with developmental disabilities

Authors:
Pages:
25-41

This article describes a peer support approach to evaluating outcomes within supported employment programs for people with developmental disabilities. Based on a model developed with seven agencies, peer support evaluation draws on insights from both internal and external evaluation. Each of the components of peer support evaluation is outlined. A case study of one agency's experience with peer support evaluation is described. The article concludes with several lessons drawn from implementation experience with several agencies, including the importance of training and support.

Fall

Program Logic Models: Expanding Their Role and Structure for Program Planning and Evaluation

Authors:
Pages:
95-106

Schematic representations of a program sometimes referred to as program logic models, have been used for a number of years as a means of' clarifying the purposes of a program and casual the assumptions on which it is based. This is paper discusses some of the benefits of expanding the structure of these logic models by clearly separating implementation and outcome objectives within the objectives hierarchy of the program. Benefits of constructing these logic models for program planning and other purposes are also discussed.